DEVONthink 2.5 is here with syncing and web sharing

Sync iconUsing multiple computers, working from different places, sharing data with coworkers: In today’s highly connected world it’s essential to always have access to the latest data. And because we know that, of course, we worked hard on creating the most versatile yet robust synchronization technology and rewriting the build-in web server of DEVONthink Pro Office.

All editions of DEVONthink 2.5 synchronize databases between multiple computers and locations either directly or via Dropbox, WebDAV, file servers, or just any mountable disk. The new web server gives your PC and Linux colleagues access to the databases you want to share with them directly through their favorite web browser. And if you’re still fighting the paper flood you will like the enhancements we have made to the scan feature.

Read the full news here or directly visit the Download page to get the new versions.

Don’t miss our screencasts that explain step-by-step how these great new feature work. 13 minutes well spent! Watch them directly from inside the app in the Support Assistant (Help > Tutorials) or here on our website on the Tips & Tutorials page.

Important: If you used previous public betas of the sync technology you need to delete your existing sync stores before using the final version. Please simply delete the sync store folder on your file server, WebDAV drive or on Dropbox. Visit the Dropbox website, navigate to the folder “Apps” and delete sync store folder there. It is named “DEVONthink” or has the name extension “.dtSyncStore”. If you haven’t excluded the sync store from synchronizing via the Dropbox app you can delete it from the Dropbox folder on your computer, too.

53 Responses to “DEVONthink 2.5 is here with syncing and web sharing”

  1. Arno Wouters says:

    Giovanni, it is a very bad recommendation to deselect the ~/dropbox/apps/ folder. If you do so you risk loss of data other apps put in this folder. Instead deselect the ~/dropbox/apps/DEVONthink folder. I really don’t understand why and I am very disappointed that devontechnologies continues to recommend deleting the apps folder, despite the fact that on the devonthink forum several users have pointed out the problem and several other users have actually reported data loss.

  2. eboehnisch says:

    @ Arno: I have updated the documentation to tell people to exclude the Sync Store folder, not the complete Apps folder. If the old recommendation is left anywhere please let me know where and I’ll update that occurrence, too.

  3. Arno Wouters says:

    @eboenisch: glad to hear that the documentation has been updated! Great!

    My comment was a response to Giovanni ‘s ‘in the tutorial, you suggest to deselect Apps in the preferences of Dropbox’.

    @Giovanni: please let eboenisch know were you found this recommendation

Leave a Reply