Tuesday Tip: Out with the old, in the with new

Global InboxThe global inbox is ideally used as a place to store quickly captured data that will be filed later. Many times we’re quickly grabbing things of interest to us, but not related to any project. We make a vague mental note about filing this information later, but then forget about it as we find ourselves following other interesting ideas. Some time later we slow down and realize our global inbox has gotten out of hand.

If you don’t have the time to sort the data out now, but want to start fresh and still keep the gathered info, you can do this:

  1. Quit DEVONthink Pro (Office).
  2. In the Finder, hold the Option key and select the Go menu at the top of your screen. Click on Library.
  3. Navigate into Application Support, then into DEVONthink Pro 2.
  4. Rename the Inbox.dtbase2 file (I called mine “Inbox_old01.dtBase2”). Optionally, you can relocate this file, say to your Documents folder.

Double-click this file to open it and you’ll have access to all the gathered files, just like any other database. You’ll also notice you have a brand new, empty global inbox, ready for use!

Note: Technically, this is also possible with DEVONthink Personal, but the old database can’t be opened since Personal only supports having one database — the global inbox.

5 Responses to “Tuesday Tip: Out with the old, in the with new”

  1. Steffi says:

    Hello,
    thank you for sharing the tip.
    Additionally – that what I do – you can let the Global Inbox sync with a sync store and got on all your devices. Doing it so, you can just grab all files and place it somewhere more conviences within your database structure.

    Have a lovely day.
    Best,
    Stefanie
    http://www.steffiscloud.de

  2. Michael says:

    Whenever the global inbox becomes too ‘full’ I create a new group in the database then select all entries in the inbox and drag or move them into the new group.

    Your tip for clearing the global inbox comes over as far more convoluted. Am I missing/overlooking something?

  3. Jim Neumann says:

    It’s not a method for “clearing the global inbox”. It’s for archiving the current one and starting a new one from scratch.

  4. Michael says:

    I have re-read the tip and with respect there is no mention of archiving.

  5. Jim Neumann says:

    It doesn’t have to specifically mention “archiving”. It’s in the spirit of the thing. The point is you can quickly and easily create a new Global Inbox via this method, preserving what you captured previously, and get a new Global Inbox with very little effort.

Leave a Reply

Note: Blog comments are for commenting on a post. They are unsuitable for proper customer support, honestly. Please consider writing to our support team instead.